英屬哥倫比亞大學與 Modern Green Canada 攜手推進環保建築研究

Source: 英屬哥倫比亞大學 (University of British Columbia)


英屬哥倫比亞大學 (UBC) 和 Modern Green Canada 建立戰略性合作夥伴關係,以 Modern Green Canada 捐助的 $350 萬加元為經費,攜手推動 UBC 校園內的環保建築研究和發展。

此次捐款源於 2010 年溫哥華冬季奧運會期間舉行的一系列討論,為 UBC 的可持續發展互動研究中心 (CIRS) 提供支援 — 該中心於 2011 年秋季開幕時將成為北美最環保的建築,同時讓 UBC 與 Modern Green Canada 建立合作研究的夥伴關係。

UBC 校長 Stephen Toope 表示: 未來 20 年,全球城市人口預計將增加 20 億,因此我們必須努力改進我們工作和生活所在的永續性。這合作關係有助 UBC 與 Modern Green奠定在該領域上的領先地位,並加速可持續性城市基礎建設和環保建築的發展。

透過這夥伴合作關係,UBC 與 Modern Green Canada 將於可持續發展政策和流程的領域內開展應用研究,UBC 更得到測試及技術應用的對象,以市場需求出發,研究一套適應全球的解決方案。研究的成果將應用於 CIRS 和 Modern Green Canada 的項目,包括其於北美的第一個開發專案 — 位於 UBC 校園南區的 Wesbrook Village 商住合用環保住宅項目及一個研發展示中心。工程預計於今年夏天開始。

Modern Green 主席張雷表示: 作為打造高度舒適並環保節能住房的領導者,Modern Green非常期待與 UBC 的研究人員開展合作。此外他還指出,該夥伴關係將為知識轉移、人員和學生交流、及體驗式學習和研究創造機會。透過與 CIRS 的合作,Modern Green 位於 UBC 校園區的環保住宅項目及研發展示中心,將展現舒適和節能的結合,成為可持續發展地產項目的先導者。

溫哥華市政府透過推廣2010 年溫哥華冬季奧運會及上海世博會期間的各類投資計劃,積極與包括 Modern Green Canada 在內的企業建立關係,大力推動對環保經濟的投資,鞏固溫哥華在環保企業領域的領先地位。

時任溫哥華市長 Gregor Robertson 表示:我們相信,在 2010 年冬奧會期間,向 Modern Green 這類企業展現本地的潛力,並吸引他們進駐溫哥華,為未來帶來回報。特別是 Modern Green 在中國綠色房地產開發佔有領先的地位,他們將不斷與本地眾多的企業及建築專才合作,投資新的環保建築技術,有助刺激本地經濟發展和就業增長,進一步鞏固溫哥華作為全球環保經濟樞紐的地位。

CIRS 和 Modern Green Canada 的合作,是建基於 UBC 在可持續發展範疇內的不斷研究、試驗及實踐。UBC 已於其溫哥華校區設立積極的碳減排目標,包括於 2050年前完全消除校內的溫室氣體排放。相關專案包括: UBC Bioenergy Research and Demonstration Project,利用生物質氣化生產清潔能源; UBC Sustainability Initiative,將可持續發展教學、學習、研究和營運融為一體。

負責領導建立 CIRS 的 UBC 永續發展倡議執行總監及資源、環境與永續發展研究所教授 John Robinson 表示開幕時,CIRS 將不僅是北美最為環保的建築,更將成為舉足輕重的可持續發展研究和行動中心,學者與合作夥伴將在這裡共同攜手,更快速且更有效地針對城市發展所遇到的挑戰,尋找創新的解決方案。

可持續發展互動研究中心 (CIRS) 無論在運作設計、夥伴合作及社區互動方面,都處於前瞻地位,環觀世界上沒有其他研究中心能像 CIRS 一樣,將三個領域融為一體,讓這個斥資 $3,700 萬加元的中心,成為可持續發展領域的真正領導者。欲瞭解更多,請瀏覽 www.cirs.ubc.ca

Modern Green Canada and UBC partner to advance green building research with $3.5-million contribution

Source: University of British Columbia


The University of British Columbia and Modern Green Canada have entered into a strategic partnership to advance green building research and development at UBC, thanks to Modern Green Canada’s $3.5-million contribution.

The contribution, which results from discussions that occurred around the 2010 Olympic Winter Games, will support UBC’s Centre for Interactive Research on Sustainability (CIRS) – expected to be the greenest building in North America when it opens in fall 2011 – and establish a research partnership between UBC and Modern Green Canada.

“Over the next 20 years, the world’s urban population is projected to increase by two billion people, so it is crucial that we dramatically improve the sustainability of the buildings we work and live in,” says UBC President Stephen Toope. “This partnership helps place UBC and Modern Green at the forefront of these efforts, accelerating the development of sustainable urban infrastructure and green building practices.”

With the partnership, UBC and Modern Green Canada will conduct applied research in sustainability policies and processes. The partnership also provides UBC a partner to help test and deploy advanced sustainable building technologies in an effort to provide market-based solutions to global sustainability challenges. Collaborations will take place at CIRS and Modern Green Canada sites worldwide, including its first North American development – a mixed-use green residential development planned in Wesbrook Village on UBC’s south campus that will include a sustainability research and development demonstration centre. Construction is planned to begin this summer.

“Modern Green, a leader in creating highly comfortable and energy-saving housing solutions, is looking forward to working with UBC researchers,” says Zhang Lei, Chairman of Modern Green, adding the partnership will include opportunities for knowledge transfer, personnel and student exchanges and experiential learning and research. “In collaboration with CIRS, Modern Green’s mixed-use residential building and demonstration centre at UBC will be a precedent-setting sustainable development for comfort and energy performance.”

By hosting investment programs during the 2010 Olympic Winter Games and the Shanghai World Expo, the City of Vancouver leveraged its relationships with businesses, including Modern Green Canada, to advance investments in the green economy and strengthen Vancouver’s status as a leader in green enterprise.

“Bringing companies like Modern Green to Vancouver during the 2010 Games and showing them what we have to offer, was something we felt would pay off in the long run,” says Mayor Gregor Robertson. “By attracting one of China’s leading green developers to Vancouver, the City has further strengthened its position as a global hub for the green economy. Modern Green’s investments will help stimulate the local economy and job growth, as they continue to engage a number of local firms and build expertise by implementing new greener building technologies.”

CIRS and the Modern Green Canada partnership are part of UBC’s ongoing transformation into a living laboratory for sustainability research and action. UBC’s Vancouver campus has set aggressive carbon reduction targets, including the elimination of institutional greenhouse gas emissions by 2050. Related projects include the UBC Bioenergy Research and Demonstration Project, which will produce clean energy through biomass gasification; and the UBC Sustainability Initiative, which integrates sustainability teaching, learning, research and operations.

“CIRS will be more than simply the greenest building in North America when it opens,” says John Robinson, Executive Director of the UBC Sustainability Initiative and Professor in the Institute for Resources, Environment and Sustainability, who is leading CIRS’s creation. “It will be an important hub for sustainability research and action, where scholars and partners work to find innovative solutions to the challenges of urban development faster and more effectively than ever before.”

The Centre for the Interactive Research on Sustainability (CIRS) is at the cutting edge of sustainable building design and operations, sustainability-focused partnerships and the development of interactive community engagement processes. No other centre in the world is combining all three activities under one umbrella, making this $37-million centre a true leader in sustainability. For more information, visit: www.cirs.ubc.ca.